personal injury lawyers
Fighting for maximum injury compensation for you and your family
No Fees Until We Win
What do I do if I get in a car accident in NJ?
According to the New Jersey Department of Transportation, an average of 60,000 car accidents occur each year, resulting in at least one injury. This is about 164 accidents occurring daily.
The figure is hard to believe.
Knowing what to do after an accident can help protect your rights to claim compensation. Anyone involved in a New Jersey car accident is encouraged to do the following:
Notify Emergency Services
It is essential that you notify the police of the accident so that a police report can be made. This report is necessary to make a claim for compensation. If there are injuries that require an ambulance, make sure to request these services when making the notification.
Take Pictures and Notes
If your injuries do not prevent you from moving around, take pictures of the scene and gather information from any witnesses so that they can be contacted at a later time. Make sure to photograph the area from many different angles. If you cannot do this because of your injuries, don’t panic. Your attorney can complete an investigation at a later time.
Seek Medical Care
You should go to the emergency room for a medical evaluation. Even if you feel that your injuries are minor, you should be checked out by a medical professional. Headaches, upset stomachs, and tight muscles may not just be from the stress of the accident. Protect your health and get an exam.
Contact Insurance Company
You will need to let your insurance carrier know that you have been involved in an accident. This ensures that the hospital and medical care providers are able to treat your injuries. However, do not give a formal statement at this time. Inform the insurance company that you will provide a detailed statement after you have consulted with your attorney.
Contact A New Jersey Personal Injury Lawyer
The easiest way to secure the maximum compensation for your personal injury claim is to work with a personal injury attorney. Your attorney can manage all aspects of your claim while you focus on recovering from your injuries.
Avoid Social Media Posts About Your Accident And Injuries
If you must post something about your accident on social media, keep it very basic. Do not go into any details about the accident, your injuries, or what you have talked about with your lawyer. Do not say bad or mean things about the other party or the insurance company. The insurance company will monitor your social media from the time you make a claim. They are looking for anything that they can use to deny or reduce your claim. Even the simplest things can get easily twisted. Keep it simple, and then don’t discuss it again until your case is over.
Can I Still Claim Compensation If I Am Partially At Fault For The Accident?
New Jersey is a comparative negligence law state. This means that if you share in the responsibility for an accident, up to a certain percentage, you can still make a claim for compensation.
However, your claim will be reduced by the percentage it is deemed as your fault.
For example, if you are found 25 percent responsible and were awarded $100,000.00, your claim would be reduced to $75,000.00.
A Personal Injury Attorney Can Answer Your Questions
To have all your questions about your accident and rights to claim compensation answered, schedule a no-obligation consultation with a New Jersey personal injury lawyer today.